Skip to main content
Awards & Recognition

Cameco Exploration Global “Safety First” Award

By January 15, 2016April 25th, 2022No Comments

Our Canadian crew in Read Lake wins the Cameco Exploration Global 2015 “Safety First” award. Major’s team working on the Cameco Read Lake program located  in Northern Saskatchewan has received recognition for their outstanding safety record on the program.   Our crew was drilling for uranium on the site, using the Duralite 1000N drill. This same award was won by the Major Mongolia team and Major Canada team for 5 of the past 6 years.  This award helps highlight the fact that our operations in Saskatchewan have worked more than six years without a lost time incident.

The Cameco Exploration division has a drill safety program in place called “Safety First” and within the program they acknowledge project teams and their drill contractors on a monthly basis with the culmination of a yearly award for programs with the lowest injury events.

The “Safety First” initiative incorporates the number of incidents/accidents and the severity of the incidents/accidents divided by the total number of man hours, exploration and contractor, attributed to the drill program.  This value is then multiplied by 2000 man hours to produce an occurrence rate based on one man year.  “The purpose of this program’, says Kelly Hanke Supervisor, Exploration SHEQ, Cameco Corporation Exploration Division “is to promote team work between exploration crews and contractor crews in realizing fewer incidents/accidents and to reward both groups.”

“I am very proud of the success of our leaders on this project; especially Barry Zerbin area Manager for Saskatchewan, our field superintendent, Wolf Maass, along with the entire crew on the project”, says Denis Despres, Major’s Chief Operating Officer, “we have an ongoing commitment to working in partnership with our customers to make every drill site safe.”

“It was a true partnership between Cameco Exploration and Major,” says Barry “from our top notch crews on the job-site, to everybody in the Winnipeg office that supplied the tools needed to make the job a success.  This is a fine example of the integration of safety, production and environmental excellence.”

Other Canadian crews that have won this same award:

  • 2011 – Cree Zimmer Project, SK
  • 2013 – McArthur Project, SK
  • 2014 – McArthur Project, SK
  • 2015 – Read Lake Project, SK